The Clark County School District (CCSD) continues to earn national recognition for its Magnet programs. February is National Magnet School Month and CCSD again earned national recognition for 29 of its Magnet programs from Magnet Schools of America (MSA).

The national association for magnet and theme-based schools selected 29 CCSD programs at 28 schools as Merit recipients for the 2022-23 school year. Four CCSD Magnet programs received the newly created Top School of Excellence recognition. Two programs were awarded the School of Excellence designation, and 23 schools were awarded School of Distinction designation.

“As it has for nearly three decades, CCSD continues to provide the best choice options in Nevada and the recognition from Magnet Schools of America is proof of quality,”  CCSD Superintendent Dr. Jesus F. Jara said. “Students and their families continue to benefit from the nearly 35,000 magnet seats provided as a result of the hard work and commitment of our educators and we look forward to expanding choice opportunities for students and parents in the coming years.”

The following CCSD programs earned the 2022-23 MSA Top Magnet School of Excellence Award:

  • Del Sol Academy of the Performing Arts
  • Desert Pines High School/Desert Pines Magnet Academy
  • James Cashman Middle School
  • Roger D. Gehring Elementary School Academy of Science and Technology

The following CCSD programs earned the 2022-23 MSA Magnet School of Excellence Award:

  • Rancho High School Academy of Pre-Medicine
  • Sheila Tarr Elementary School Academy of International Studies

The following CCSD programs earned the 2022-23 Magnet School of Distinction Award, which is given to Magnet Schools that have met all the basic requirements outlined in MSA’s merit awards scoring rubric:

  • Advanced Technologies Academy
  • Brown Academy of International Studies
  • Clarence A. Piggott Academy of International Studies
  • East Career and Technical Academy
  • Ed W. Clark High School
  • Gilbert Academy of Creative Arts
  • Gordon McCaw STEAM Academy
  • K.O. Knudson Academy of the Arts
  • Kenny C. Guinn STEM Academy
  • Las Vegas Academy of the Arts
  • Mabel Hoggard Math and Science Magnet Elementary School
  • Mike O’Callaghan Middle School i3 Learn Academy
  • Northwest Career and Technical Academy
  • Rancho High School Academy of Aviation Technology
  • Southeast Career and Technical Academy
  • Spring Valley High School
  • The STEM and Medical Academy at Jim Bridger Middle School
  • Thurman White Academy of the Performing Arts
  • Valley High School-International Baccalaureate
  • Veterans Tribute Career and Technical Academy
  • Walter Bracken STEAM Academy
  • Walter Johnson Junior High School Academy of International Studies
  • West Career and Technical Academy

“The Magnet and Career and Technical Academies in Clark County continue to provide the model for what students can accomplish when offered opportunities,” CCSD Magnet Schools Director Sheryl Colgan said. “Every year, the MSA awards confirm CCSD’s choice options and the continued growth of its Magnet programs to provide students with equal opportunities to discover their talents and abilities.”

Principals at all 28 schools will be recognized and receive their awards during an awards ceremony held at Magnet Schools of America’s 40th National Conference in April.

To learn more about Magnet Schools of America, visit For more information about CCSD Magnet Schools, visit